LEAP Community

Collaboration and co-production are key elements of LEAP. As a team, we have fostered both staff and student communities where we can ‘LEAP together’ to move the project forward towards addressing differential student outcomes and narrowing attainment gaps and creating more inclusive learning and teaching environments where students enjoy equal opportunities to realise their full potential regardless of culture or background, and staff feel more confident to engage in topics in relation to matters associated with a range of protected characteristics.

Student Collaborations

Please click on the links below for further details.

 

Race Equality Student Advisory (RESA) Group

The Race Equality Student Advisory (RESA) Group draws together and convenes regular meetings of a representative group of undergraduates from within the university with the express purpose of advising and informing on all matters associated with LEAP’s work on differential student outcomes and attainment gaps in relation to ethnicity, informing the Decolonisation of the Curriculum Oversight Group led by Deputy Vice Chancellor Toby Wilkinson and any other institutional race equality work such as projects overseen by the Eleanor Glanville Centre (EGC) RESA comprises students of colour with representation from the Black student community. 

Student-led Projects

The University’s established Undergraduate Research Opportunity Scheme (UROS) in the Lincoln Academy of Teaching and Learning (LALT) undergraduate students with the opportunity to undertake independent research under the supervision of academic staff. UROS students working with the LEAP team are from diverse national, ethnic and socio-economic backgrounds and look to examine BAME differential student outcomes using their own unique and invaluable perspectives. LEAP and UROS co-funded projects have included:

Staff Collaborations

Please click on the links below for further details.

LEAP Group

A LEAP community of practice was established in early 2019 which has since expanded to include over 40 academic and professional services members. A Microsoft Teams site was also launched in 2019 and remains active for sharing resources and access to internal and external opportunities and providing a safe environment for open and honest discussions on student experience and success in association with ethnicity and a range of other protected characteristics. The community meets quarterly to update and share ideas in relation to the LEAP action plan.

Student Success Champion Network

The Student Success Champion Network provides the bridge between LEAP and Schools/Departments to help the LEAP team develop a deeper understanding of School/Department contexts in relation to attainment by ethnicity and the BAME students’ academic experience.

School/ Department champions are listed below if you wish to contact them.

Student Success Champion Network
Area Member Email
School of Computer Science Olivier Szymanezyk oszymanezyk@lincoln.ac.uk
Science Foundation Centre Ellie Davidson edavidson@lincoln.ac.uk
School of Life Sciences

Carol Rea

Elisa Frasnelli

Neil Holden

crea@lincoln.ac.uk

efrasnelli@lincoln.ac.uk

nholden@lincoln.ac.uk

National Centre for Food Manufacturing Carl Baxter cbaxter@lincoln.ac.uk
School of Engineering Dalila O’Grady davdic@lincoln.ac.uk
School of Chemistry

Hilary Hamnett

Samantha Tipper

hhamnett@lincoln.ac.uk

stipper@lincoln.ac.uk

School of Geography

Harriet Moore

Theresa Mercer

 

hamoore@lincoln.ac.uk

tmercer@lincoln.ac.uk

School of Mathematics and Physics Phil Sutton psutton@lincoln.ac.uk
Medical School Rachel Woods rwoods@lincoln.ac.uk
School of Pharmacy Penny Mosley pmosley@lincoln.ac.uk
Lincoln Law School Nkechikwu Azinge vazinge@lincoln.ac.uk
School of Psychology Michael Mireku Michael Mireku@lincoln.ac.uk
School of Social and Political Science Simon Obendorf sobendorf@lincoln.ac.uk
School of Education Helen Childerhouse hchilderhouse@lincoln.ac.uk
School of Sport and Exercise Science Harry Dorrell hdorrell@lincoln.ac.uk
School of Health and Social Care Michael Rasell mrasell@lincoln.ac.uk
School of English and Journalism Imke Henkel ihenkel@lincoln.ac.uk
School of Fine Arts & Performance Arts Arya Madhavan amadhavan@lincoln.ac.uk
Lincoln School of Design Brian Voce bvoce@lincoln.ac.uk
Lincoln School of Architecture and the Built Environment Amira Elnokaly aelnokaly@lincoln.ac.uk
Lincoln School of Film and Media Sandra Kazlauskaite skazlauskaite@lincoln.ac.uk
School of History and Heritage Giustina Monti gmonti@lincoln.ac.uk
Department of Marketing and Tourism Leon Davis ldavis@lincoln.ac.uk
Department of Accounting, Finance and Economics Ryan Girdley rgirdley@lincoln.ac.uk
Department of Management David Anderson danderson@lincoln.ac.uk