LHERI Awards

The Lincoln Higher Education Research Institute’s annual research awards of up to £1000 are intended to stimulate and support the development of small-scale research projects which explore student engagement and attainment in Higher Education in the broadest sense and which align with the university’s strategic plan and the strategic plans of its colleges and schools (e.g. to create new knowledge in the areas of teaching, learning and assessment or to evaluate other novel and innovative Higher Education practices which address high priority areas of local and national activity).  

Current award holding principal investigators (2019-2020) include:

  • Georgina Els, Lincoln International Business School, ‘Team coaching tools and methods for fostering student engagement’
  • Dave Spafford, College of Science, ‘Resilience in STEM learning: Developing assessments of resilience in learners and designing teaching interventions that impact upon performance’
  • Marcella Forster, College of Arts, ‘Does addressing EDI in the curriculum affect the BAME attainment gap’
  • Geeta Lakshmi, Lincoln International Business School, ‘Who listens: A comparative investigation of lecture recording usage among University of Lincoln students’
  • Ian Snowley, Library, ‘Inclusive insight: Using students to explore the dimensions of student library usage and engagement’

Details of forthcoming rounds will be made known via this website in April/May of each academic year, including how to apply and the selection and feedback process, as well as the conditions of award, and circulated to College Directors of Education for further dissemination.